Interview with the Multitalented GlamourPuss, Makeup Artist and Photographer extraordinaire

In today’s interview,  I sat down with Courtney, a fantastic makeup artist and photographer located in North Carolina. I had the privilege of working with Courtney. Her work and her personality is phenomenal. A truly creative spirit.

Hi Courtney. Thanks for taking time out of your day to talk to me.

1) How long have you been a Makeup Artist?
 
I have been a make-up artist for 18 years.
2) Tell me what inspired you to become a makeup artist?

I can remember when I was very little, before I started school, sitting and watching my Mom put on her make-up every day. I was mesmerized.

3) What do you like most about being a makeup artist?

I like being able to make people see things in themselves that they may have never seen before. It’s such a rush when someone takes that first glance in the mirror!

4) What is your least favorite part of being a makeup artist?

The work is feast or famine, so it’s hard to plan out…life, really.

5) Where do you see your career going?

I definitely have an interest in product development. I get a lot of products and have recently started focusing on reviewing them (http://iamglamourpuss.blogspot.com/), so that has me scrutinizing anything I get into my hands.

6) Have you ever thought about doing a workshop?

I have done workshops before. If there was enough interest, I would consider it.

7) What advice would you give to those who want to become a makeup artist?

Network like crazy and constantly play with make-up and try to emulate looks you see that you like. Sure, there are lots of great books with techniques out there, but you’ll only really learn by working hands on. And remember, heavy contouring/highlighting is not for everyday use.

8) Who would be your dream person to make up?

I tend to wish I could do make-up on the celebrities you see running around looking a mess. Or the ones you see flop at red carpet functions. I really feel like I could work a number on Courtney Love! And I think Kristen Stewart is really pretty, but her stylist team has no idea how to bring that out and keep it age appropriate. The answer to this question changes daily.

9) What was your most creative shoot?

I have had many creative shoots. If it involves bright colors, cool hair or wigs and fun clothes, I’m satisfied. I have a concept I will be working on soon that will be pushing the limits. I can’t wait to bring it to fruition.

10) What magazine is your dream to work with?

I think I would prefer something with edgier images, like Nylon, Black Book or Interview.

11) Any favorite time period that inspires you?

I love the ’60s…you’ve got the mod hipsters, the beatniks, the hippies and the sex kittens like Brigitte Bardot and Sophia Loren.

12) Do you think makeup artist should go to school to learn?

I think a make-up artist should have to go to art school. I learned volumes!

13) What’s your trade beauty tip?

I rarely put mascara on the bottom lashes. In my opinion it opens up the eyes more and reduces the risk of dark shadows from falling mascara debris.

14) What might we find in your makeup kit?

My airbrush and compressor, MAC palettes, brushes, tons of lip glosses and lipsticks…then hair products and a wardrobe “fix it” container with clips, pins, double-sided tape, scissors, etc. It’s always best to be prepared.

15) Do you have any favorite photographers and which one would you most want to work with?

16) Are you multitalented (doing more than just makeup)?

I am multi-talented. I also do the hair that is seen in my portfolio. I think I’ve worked one shoot where there was a separate hair person. And I am a photographer. I’ve only been shooting for about 4 years and it’s a lot of fun learning and growing.

http://www.photosbyglamourpuss.daportfolio.com/

17) What is the one thing a makeup artist should always have in their kit?

An eyebrow razor. You never know when you will need to shape someone’s brows and if it’s on short notice, you can’t have the redness and swelling that you can get with tweezing. A razor is a great quick fix.

18) Anything else we should know about you?

I am also a henna tattoo artist. I worked with the first company to offer henna tattoos as a service in the US. I lived in NYC for a year doing henna. It’s a skill I am so glad I know. It is such a beautiful art form.

I have been a make-up artist for 18 years.

 
Thanks Courtney 🙂
 
 To view Courtney’s work and contact her at  Photos by Glamourpuss: I take pretty photos. 
P.S. Courtney does travel
2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Tweets that mention Interview with the Multitalented GlamourPuss, Makeup Artist and Photographer extraordinaire « Growing My Fashion IQ -- Topsy.com
  2. Shernelle Taylor
    May 18, 2011 @ 17:18:35

    Hi there, I think what your doing is great and I have always wanted to do this. I am a student studying at college and love doing people’s makeup. How do I go about doing this? Could you please leave a message on my facebook… It would be so great to here back from you. My name is ‘shernelle bennett’. Thankyou.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

