Interview with the very talented Michelle Larner.

Today’s interview is with a wonderful woman who has talent oozes out of her ears. I have only had the opportunity to work with Michelle once but I never forgot her or her talent.

I want to thank Michelle for taking time  to talk with me.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1) How long have you been a Makeup Artist?

Since 1997, professionally. But, I was always curious and fascinated by makeup, since childhood.

2) Tell me what inspired you to become a makeup artist?

Well, my family is full of hairdressers. It’s a related skill, in the blood. I was also captivated by films and magazines. I tried duplicating the looks that I saw there.

3) What do you like most about being a makeup artist?

I love that no two days are alike. I also get to step into worlds that I would never have seen otherwise. I meet people from all different cultures, religions, ages.

4) What is your least favorite part of being a makeup artist?

Proving my value as an artist. We are not all alike, and just the price is the difference. Not true.

5) Where do you see your career going?

Along the way, I learned what my stamina can handle, and my patience. I don’t take work, that I know I am not suitable for. I did try a little bit of everything along the way. It was fun, and a great experience. But I know the genres that I am best for.

 

6) Have you ever thought about doing a workshop?

Yes and no. I am best one on one at the moment. I see other makeup artists offer courses, which I think is a great thing. At the moment, I can’t see myself doing it. I also think that most of what I do, can not be taught. It has to come from a drift, a feeling, an inspiration, that is unique to the artist. The rest would be just breaking down a few looks, and getting someone to churn out the same idea, step by step.

7) What advice would you give to those who want to become a makeup artist?

I am strongly opinionated about this. This isn’t a slumber party with a paycheck. Do you think that you are strong enough to make this your sole profession, and survive from what you are earning  I wish those with spouses, 9 to 5 jobs, that are looking to do this for fun, or the love of makeup, really not take jobs away from true makeup artists, that devote their whole lives and being to this career.

8) Who would be your dream person to make up?

That’s a challenging answer. There are faces that are beautiful, that belong to ugly souls. In other words, you may not enjoy working with your fantasy celebrity. If I had to pick one, I would say, Sophia Loren. Seems to be a rare combination of beauty through and through, inside and out.

9) What was your most creative shoot?

I was an assistant body painter to the makeup artist Joanne Gair. What an incredible woman. Gracious, humble and funny beyond words. It was an incredible experience. I learned a lot from her.

10) What magazine is your dream to work with?

Vogue, Vogue, Vogue. I don’t care which country it’s from, just want to be in there once. Also, I would love to have a chance to work with the NY Post, for there weekly fashion shoots. I know this is one extreme to the next, but this is what I want.

11) Any favorite time period that inspires you?

I am not so much interested in the past, as I am about the future. I am more so influenced by a country and culture, than a time period.

12) Do you think makeup artist should go to school to learn?

 I didn’t. But, can’t hurt to try once, and start somewhere.

13) What’s your trade beauty tip?

Please take good care of your skin. Clean your face properly. Get facials. Avoid excessive sun exposure. I have seen horrific skin issues. A lot of it could have been avoided. Most of it can be corrected, and controlled. Its amazing the amount of active, corrective product choices available. Please use something. I often see total neglect, premature aging, dehydration and damage.

14) What might we find in your makeup kit?

I use a variety of products. All different companies. Some expensive, some not. I love them all equally. I couldn’t live without my false lashes. I buy them in bulk. I go through them like water.

15) Do you have any favorite photographers and which one would you most want to work with?

 I work mostly with the same people. That’s a good and a bad idea. I feel my print work got better, when I understood how each of their cameras interpreted my work. I really do feel that a camera is a machine, and each one is very different. The outcome for makeup will be different for each photoshoot, even if I did the exact same makeup, on the same face.

16) Are you multitalented (doing more than just makeup)?

I also do eyelash extensions, spray tanning and waxing.

17) What is the one thing a makeup artist should always have in their kit?

Sponges. I can’t live without them.

18) Anything else we should know about you?

I am very shy mostly. I prefer to have my work speak for me, than speaking for my work. This is a special treat to be interviewed, thankyou kindly!

You are quite welcome Michelle.

If you wish to work with Michelle, you can reach her at makeupbymichelle@aol.com

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Maude Mejia
    May 28, 2010 @ 20:40:56

    Incredibly awesome article. Honest!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

